Tuesday, 21st January 2020, 05:05:20 PM
Current Affairs
  • India Grand Challenges 10): Understanding national climate patterns and adapting to them.
  • India Grand Challenges 9): Providing learner centric, language neutral and holistic education to all.
  • India Grand Challenges 8): Securing critical resources commensurate with the size if our country .
  • India Grand Challenges 7): ensuring quantity and quality of water in all rivers and aquatic bodies.
  • India Grand Challenges 6): Guaranteeing nutritional security and elimination female and child anaemia.
  • India Grand Challenges 5): Making India non-fossil based.
  • India Grand Challenges 4): Taking the Railway to leh and Tawang.
  • India Grand Challenges 3): Ensuring location and ability independent electoral and financial empowerment .
  • India Grand Challenges 2): Developing commercially viable decentralised and distributed energy for all.
  • India Grand Challenges 1): Ensuring universal eco-friendly waste management .

 Who Won The 2017 National Spelling Bee? 

Date of Publish - Wednesday, 11th October 2017

Ananya Vinay, 12, is the 2017 Scripps National Bee Champion. She spelled the word “marocain” correctly to win. The word means “a dress fabric made from silk or rayon.”

Ananya, who lives in Fresno, California, receives more than $40,000 in cash and prizes, including a trip to New York to appear on “Live with Kelly and Ryan” and a trip to Hollywood to be a guest on ABC’s “Jimmy Kimmel Live!”

This year’s bee breaks the trend of ties for the top spot. For each of the past three years, the bee ended in ties after contestants successfully went through the competition’s entire list of words. This year, the been introduced a written “tiebreaker test” to prevent two contestants sharing the title.

If the bee ended in a tie, the speller with the better score on the written test would have been declared the winner.

The competition started with 291 spellers who squared off in Oxon Hill, Maryland for the 90th annual event. All the spellers competed in preliminaries as the field was whittled down to 15 who competed in the primetime championship. The final round was aired on ESPN.

Last year’s winning words were Feldenkrais and gesellschaft. Among this year’s words were: phthirophagous , causse, melainotype, euphroe, apagoge and pterygoideus.


Leave a Comment